Mobile Menu Toggle

Interview: Music For The Apocalypse in 'What's the Furthest Place From Here?'

Interview by Troy-Jeffrey Allen


Roll for initiative! Jay, Lana, Drew, Walter, and Shen have played Dice & Deathtraps together since high school. Now, on the verge of graduating college and scattering, they've decided to finally complete their unfinished first campaign. But when Jay's partner Cassandra joins as a new player, Lana's afraid the party won't ever finish their quest...


PREVIEWSworld: So, what is The Last Session?

Jasmine Walls: The Last Session is actually two stories interwoven, set partially in the 'real world' as well as in the world of the game being played. A group of friends--Jay, Lana, Shen, Walter, and Drew--that met in high school playing D&D in a failed GSA club are now graduating college and on the verge of going their separate ways, so they decide to finally finish the very first campaign they ever played. Unfortunately, the addition of a new player--the GM's girlfriend, Cassandra--has thrown a wrench into the group's dynamic. At its core, The Last Session is about friendship, dice-rolling shenanigans, and stepping out on the path of a truly terrifying adventure; adulthood.

PREVIEWSworld: How did this come about as a project? What inspired it?

Jasmine Walls: I was happily surprised when Mad Cave reached out to me about writing this story, so I can't take credit for the base idea of it, but I was definitely inspired by my own tabletop adventures, which I also began in high school. There's a great parallel in making comics with a team and playing tabletop games since they're both forms of collaborative storytelling, which is something I really love and plays a huge role in The Last Session. I try to match a story's tone to its visuals as well, so the vibrancy of Dozer's art was also a big influence.

PREVIEWSworld: Tell us about the AHS GSA crew? Who are they and what makes them integral to the story?

Jasmine Walls: It was important to me that this story had a queer cast, but without making it their defining trait, and what better way than to introduce them from the get-go as all part of a Gender Sexuality Alliance? Each character is dealing with their own problems in their high school days as well as in college, and I think every reader will be able to find something relatable in this cast.

PREVIEWSworld: Will the readers get to experience different worlds?

Jasmine Walls: Absolutely! Readers won't just see the game being played, but fully dive into it, and get to follow along with the adventure. It was a fun challenge to balance the interpersonal real world story with the action-packed adventure of the game narrative, which was masterfully brought to life by Dozer's artwork.

PREVIEWSworld: Is this more comedy or high fantasy or something else entirely? 

Jasmine Walls: Why not both? I love genre-blending, and The Last Session is a combination of high fantasy, comedy, and slice of life.

PREVIEWSworld: Are you into tabletop? Which ones?

Jasmine Walls: I am, I started playing D&D in high school with a group of friends, and never really stopped. If it involves making characters and rolling dice, I'm in. I play a lot of Pathfinder currently, as well as more indie tabletop games like Casketland and Magic Swords.

PREVIEWSworld: Looking forward, what can readers expect from The Last Session?

Jasmine Walls: I hope a lot of laughter, I want readers to have fun with this story. There are epic wins and epic fails, all the skeletons you could possibly want, and a little bit of intrigue, as a treat.

PREVIEWSworld: Ultimately, who would you say this book is for?

Jasmine Walls: While I truly think this story is perfect for just about anyone, it really is a love letter to my fellow nerds, and to all the folks moving into adulthood and wondering how to bridge their lives and friendships from teen years to the ever-elusive feeling of being a 'real grown up', something I still haven't quite managed.

 

Keep an eye on PREVIEWSworld.com's TwitterFacebookYouTube, or Instagram for more.

What's the Furthest Place From Here #1 hits comic shops on November 10th from Image Comics. Bonus: Every issue will have an extremely limited variant cover that comes with a 7" vinyl featuring songs from the punk genre, specially recorded especially for the series. Just another reason to preorder your copy today with PREVIEWSworld Pullbox!  

IMAGE COMICS
WHATS THE FURTHEST PLACE FROM HERE #1 CVR A BOSS
(W) Matthew Rosenberg (A/CA) Tyler Boss
TRIPLE-SIZED FIRST ISSUE!

A postapocalyptic coming-of-age story from 4 Kids Walk into a Bank's TYLER BOSS &
MATTHEW ROSENBERG.

The world has ended. All that remains are gangs of children living among the ruins. But Sid believes there must be something more out there. When she disappears into the wastelands, her gang will risk everything to bring her home. A story about the things that matter most-your survival, your loved ones, and your record collection.
In Shops: Nov 10, 2021
SRP: $4.99
PREVIEWS Page #46

IMAGE COMICS
WHATS THE FURTHEST PLACE FROM HERE #1 CVR B MARTIN
(W) Matthew Rosenberg (A) Tyler Boss (CA) Marcos Martin
TRIPLE-SIZED FIRST ISSUE!

A postapocalyptic coming-of-age story from 4 Kids Walk into a Bank's TYLER BOSS &
MATTHEW ROSENBERG.

The world has ended. All that remains are gangs of children living among the ruins. But Sid believes there must be something more out there. When she disappears into the wastelands, her gang will risk everything to bring her home. A story about the things that matter most-your survival, your loved ones, and your record collection.
In Shops: Nov 10, 2021
SRP: $4.99
PREVIEWS Page #46

IMAGE COMICS
WHATS THE FURTHEST PLACE FROM HERE #1 CVR C YOUNG
(W) Matthew Rosenberg (A) Tyler Boss (CA) Skottie Young
TRIPLE-SIZED FIRST ISSUE!

A postapocalyptic coming-of-age story from 4 Kids Walk into a Bank's TYLER BOSS &
MATTHEW ROSENBERG.

The world has ended. All that remains are gangs of children living among the ruins. But Sid believes there must be something more out there. When she disappears into the wastelands, her gang will risk everything to bring her home. A story about the things that matter most-your survival, your loved ones, and your record collection.
In Shops: Nov 10, 2021
SRP: $4.99
PREVIEWS Page #46

IMAGE COMICS
WHATS THE FURTHEST PLACE FROM HERE #1 CVR D BENDIS
(W) Matthew Rosenberg (A) Tyler Boss (CA) Brian Michael Bendis
TRIPLE-SIZED FIRST ISSUE!

A postapocalyptic coming-of-age story from 4 Kids Walk into a Bank's TYLER BOSS &
MATTHEW ROSENBERG.

The world has ended. All that remains are gangs of children living among the ruins. But Sid believes there must be something more out there. When she disappears into the wastelands, her gang will risk everything to bring her home. A story about the things that matter most-your survival, your loved ones, and your record collection.
In Shops: Nov 10, 2021
SRP: $4.99
PREVIEWS Page #46

IMAGE COMICS
WHATS THE FURTHEST PLACE FROM HERE #1 DLX ED 7 INCH RECORD
(W) Matthew Rosenberg (A/CA) Tyler Boss
The end of the world has a soundtrack.

Every issue of this post-apocalyptic coming-of-age series will have an extremely limited
Deluxe Edition, featuring an exclusive variant cover and a 7" record with two songs from
some of today's best indie and punk bands, recorded especially for this project.

This issue: punk rock legend BLAKE SCHWARZENBACH (Jawbreaker / Jets to Brazil)
and rising stars JOYCE MANOR bring you two songs, available exclusively with issue one.

Only available at comic shops!
In Shops: Nov 10, 2021
SRP: $14.99
PREVIEWS Page #48

IMAGE COMICS
WHATS THE FURTHEST PLACE FROM HERE #2 CVR A BOSS
(W) Matthew Rosenberg (A/CA) Tyler Boss
DOUBLE-SIZED SECOND ISSUE!
With Sid missing, her family must leave the comfort of their home in a desperate search for her. But the world beyond their walls is not a friendly place. Ask the wrong questions, and you may find out the hard way that you can never go home.
In Shops: Dec 08, 2021
SRP: $3.99
PREVIEWS Page #77

IMAGE COMICS
WHATS THE FURTHEST PLACE FROM HERE #2 CVR B SHALVEY
(W) Matthew Rosenberg (A) Tyler Boss (CA) Declan Shalvey
DOUBLE-SIZED SECOND ISSUE!
With Sid missing, her family must leave the comfort of their home in a desperate search for her. But the world beyond their walls is not a friendly place. Ask the wrong questions, and you may find out the hard way that you can never go home.
In Shops: Dec 08, 2021
SRP: $3.99
PREVIEWS Page #77

IMAGE COMICS
WHATS THE FURTHEST PLACE FROM HERE #2 DLX ED 7 INCH RECORD
(W) Matthew Rosenberg (A/CA) Tyler Boss
The end of the world will have a soundtrack.
Every issue of this postapocalyptic coming-of-age series will offer an extremely limited number of Deluxe Editions, featuring an exclusive cover and a 7" record with two songs from some of today's best indie and punk bands, recorded specially for this project.
This issue: Indie shredders SCREAMING FEMALES and punk upstarts WORRIERS burn it down.
Only available at comic shops!
In Shops: Jan 05, 2022
SRP: $14.99
PREVIEWS Page #77

****

Troy-Jeffrey Allen is the producer and co-host of PREVIEWSworld Weekly. He is also the Consumer Marketing Manager for Geppi Family Enterprises. Troy's comics work includes MF DOOM: All Caps, Public Enemy's Apocalpyse '91, the Glyph Award-nominated Fight of the Century, the Harvey Award-nominated District Comics, and the Ringo Award-nominated Magic Bullet.


So, what is THE LAST SESSION?

The Last Session is actually two stories interwoven, set partially in the 'real world' as well as in the world of the game being played. A group of friends--Jay, Lana, Shen, Walter, and Drew--that met in high school playing D&D in a failed GSA club are now graduating college and on the verge of going their separate ways, so they decide to finally finish the very first campaign they ever played. Unfortunately, the addition of a new player--the GM's girlfriend, Cassandra--has thrown a wrench into the group's dynamic. At its core, The Last Session is about friendship, dice-rolling shenanigans, and stepping out on the path of a truly terrifying adventure; adulthood.

 

How did this come about as a project? What inspired it?

I was happily surprised when Mad Cave reached out to me about writing this story, so I can't take credit for the base idea of it, but I was definitely inspired by my own tabletop adventures, which I also began in high school. There's a great parallel in making comics with a team and playing tabletop games, since they're both forms of collaborative storytelling, which is something I really love, and plays a huge role in The Last Session. I try to match a story's tone to its visuals as well, so the vibrancy of Dozer's art was also a big influence.

 

Tell us about the AHS GSA crew? Who are they and what makes them integral to the story?

It was important to me that this story had a queer cast, but without making it their defining trait, and what better way than to introduce them from the get-go as all part of a Gender Sexuality Alliance? Each character is dealing with their own problems in their high school days as well as in college, and I think every reader will be able to find something relatable in this cast.

 

Will the readers get to experience different worlds?

Absolutely! Readers won't just see the game being played, but fully dive into it, and get to follow along with the adventure. It was a fun challenge to balance the interpersonal real world story with the action-packed adventure of the game narrative, which was masterfully brought to life by Dozer's artwork.

       

Is this more comedy or high fantasy or something else entirely? 

Why not both? I love genre blending, and The Last Session is a combination of high fantasy, comedy, and slice of life.

 

Are you into tabletop? Which ones?

I am, I started playing D&D in high school with a group of friends, and never really stopped. If it involves making characters and rolling dice, I'm in. I play a lot of Pathfinder currently, as well as more indie tabletop games like Casketland and Magic Swords.

      

Looking forward, what can readers expect from THE LAST SESSION?

I hope a lot of laughter, I want readers to have fun with this story. There are epic wins and epic fails, all the skeletons you could possiblywant, and a little bit of intrigue, as a treat.

 

Ultimately, who would you say this book is for?

While I truly think this story is perfect for just about anyone, it really is a love letter to my fellow nerds, and to all the folks moving into adulthood and wondering how to bridge their lives and friendships from teen years to the ever elusive feeling of being a 'real grown up', something I still haven't quite managed.

Follow Us Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Instagram Icon YouTube Icon Rss Feed Email
Search for a Comic Shop
Outside North America? Click here

Cookies
We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. To manage our use of cookies click here.
By clicking 'Accept & Continue' or closing this banner, you accept our use of cookies.