Waging A One-Woman War

 

by Vince Brusio

Fans of Red Sonja and Unity are in for a treat when they pick up The Forgotten Queen #1 (DEC182126) from Valiant Entertainment. In this PREVIEWSworld Exclusive interview, series writer Tini Howard explains her love for historical fiction made her work on this book a self-indulgent sugar rush, and this will account for the trail of dead bodies that pile up over the course of this four-issue mini-series.

**********

Vince Brusio: What’s the genesis of the character? Is this woman with a battle axe from some long unfinished script that was once penned by Robert E. Howard? Confess!

Tini Howard: Ah, no, she's from Matt Kindt's run on Unity! She was a villain, another of Valiant's mysterious immortals, and one of my faves. 

Vince Brusio: Tell us about the premise of The Forgotten Queen. What’s the starting point for the drama?

Tini Howard: Well, when last we saw War-Monger, a.k.a. Vexana, Anchor (a Valiant hero, guess what his power is) had submerged her at the bottom of the ocean. And now, she's moving again, awake again. Whether or not that's a good or a bad thing depends on your perspective, I guess. 

Vince Brusio: Does this story somehow take place within the Valiant Universe, if not now maybe at some future point in time?

Tini Howard: It does! I like to write frame stories, so we're working in two time periods: the present, where we're with a research vessel in the middle of the ocean, and in various parts of Vexana's past. 

Vince Brusio: Who are the lucky or unlucky faces that will serve at the pleasure of The Forgotten Queen? Aside from the dead, there are warm bodies afoot, yes? Who are the other individuals caught up in this tale of love and savagery?

Tini Howard: You'll see some famous faces of history. Chinggis (better known as Genghis) Khan is in the preview pages that are floating around, but he's far from the only face people will recognize. Vexana can get an audience with pretty much anyone she wants, so why not use that? She's bringing the bloodlust for sure. 

Vince Brusio: What do you get out of telling this story? How is this experience rewarding for you, and what does it give you that you didn’t have before?

Tini Howard: I love writing historical fiction. Every time I get to explore a new time and place, I paint the shape of it in my head, imagine what it would have been like to be there and then. It's always rewarding.

THE FORGOTTEN QUEEN #2 (JAN192182)

**********

Vince Brusio writes about comics, and writes comics. He is the long-serving Editor of PREVIEWSworld.com, the creator of PUSSYCATS, and encourages everyone to keep the faith...and keep reading comics.

Follow Us Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Instagram Icon YouTube Icon Rss Feed Email
Outside North America? Click here
Deft Dysart Destruction For the Death of Toyo Harada

What is the fine line between megalomania and just trying to do the right thing? Joshua’s Dysart’s story of The Life and Death of Toyo Harada could challenge your assertion in this PREVIEWSworld interview!